Achievement

6 Aug

Over the past week we have seen some awe inspiring athletes compete in one of the greatest athletic events, the Olympics. As I watched Andy Murray on Sunday I was on the edge of my seat waiting in anticipation and excitement for him to beat Roger Federer to win the Olympic gold tennis tournament in Wimbledon at the London 2012 games. Andy’s last winning serve led the crowd into a roar of celebrations, after years of gruelling, long, hard, rigorous work, he had finally achieved his goal. In his own words “It’s number one for me,” he told BBC1. “The biggest win of my life. What an achievement for one man.

As he received the gold medal in splendor I couldn’t help but begin to look at my own life, “What have I ever achieved?” Have I achieved anything worthwhile?” “Why can’t I be talented or at least achieve something decent?”

Pondering further it dawned on me that I was thinking not from a Godly perspective but from a self motivated desire. My desire to achieve, to be something or someone, to be different from the average Joe is influenced by a longing to be recognized, to receive glory and if you will accept the root of which is a want to be worshiped.

When Christ chose his disciples he chose those who were the rejects of society or more to the point, ordinary. They were mere men who had not made it as educated Rabbis, they were seen as unimportant and irrelevant. Their jobs were that of what we may deem today as working class. The point is that Jesus doesn’t look for those who have made it, who have achieved great things, but he comes for the weak, the ugly, the unintelligent, those who have missed the mark.

So what am I saying? God wont chose Andy Murray to be his disciple because he has achieved great things? No, in the gospels and throughout the whole of scripture it is clear to see God is impartial, The whole message of the gospel and the issue I want to hopefully relay is that God doesn’t choose on the basis of our works, rich or poor, weak or strong. The message I believe Jesus conveys to us through his choosing of the disciples is that the requirement of being part of his Kingdom is not based on achievement or whether I have done right or wrong but on the basis of his choosing alone.

John 15:16 “You did not choose Me but I chose you, and appointed you that you would go and bear fruit, and that your fruit would remain, so that whatever you ask of the Father in My name He may give to you.

This I believe gives us great hope. This unbiased impartial God speaks to us of his unconditional love, something that can be a rarity in today’s society. We have no need to prove ourselves or work up some kind of achievement to be accepted.

This revelation of the Kingdom also destroys our self glory/worship. The Kingdom is divine with only one King over all, namely Christ. Our achievements pale into insignificance at the sight of Jesus’ achievement on the cross. This gives me rest in my soul to know that despite me missing the mark, not being good enough and those works which are good, even those are rubbish in the light of the accomplishments of the cross.

Paul’s journey in Christ is a great example:

Philippians 3:1-14

Further, my brothers and sisters, rejoice in the Lord! It is no trouble for me to write the same things to you again, and it is a safeguard for you. Watch out for those dogs, those evildoers, those mutilators of the flesh. For it is we who are the circumcision, we who serve God by his Spirit, who boast in Christ Jesus, and who put no confidence in the flesh— though I myself have reasons for such confidence.

If someone else thinks they have reasons to put confidence in the flesh, I have more: circumcised on the eighth day, of the people of Israel, of the tribe of Benjamin, a Hebrew of Hebrews; in regard to the law, a Pharisee; as for zeal, persecuting the church; as for righteousness based on the law, faultless.

But whatever were gains to me I now consider loss for the sake of Christ. What is more, I consider everything a loss because of the surpassing worth of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord, for whose sake I have lost all things. I consider them garbage, that I may gain Christ and be found in him, not having a righteousness of my own that comes from the law, but that which is through faith in[a] Christ—the righteousness that comes from God on the basis of faith. 10 I want to know Christ—yes, to know the power of his resurrection and participation in his sufferings, becoming like him in his death, 11 and so, somehow, attaining to the resurrection from the dead.

12 Not that I have already obtained all this, or have already arrived at my goal, but I press on to take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me. 13 Brothers and sisters, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, 14 I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.

Is achievement wrong?

For me to suggest that achieving something is all about self would be wrong. Achievements should rightly be celebrated. The Olympics has highlighted fantastic talent and hard work and has hopefully inspired many young people to continue in the athletes footsteps. However I would suggest that our longing to achieve can be influenced by wrong motives. Achievement in itself is not wrong, what leads us to achieve is that which must be questioned.  We must look into our hearts to make sense of our motives, to ask ourselves “Am I doing this out of a need for recognition or am I doing this to bring glory to God?” When the answer is for self, come to Christ who is our advocate and ask him to deal with the wrong motive. When it is to glorify God, ask him to multiply and increase the pure motive.

God is continually bringing those in Christ to the end of themselves. Why? His main purpose is that He, The King may be rightfully worshiped. When we want the “I” in us to be worshiped we deflect God’s deserved praise to our undeserved selves. When we are brought to the end of ourselves, there is no more “I” to be praised but only glory can be credited to God.

So I encourage you to look at your motives. What motivates you? Have you achieved lots? Lay it at the cross. Have you achieved little? Know that you are accepted and not rejected.

May God continue to bring us to the end of ourselves to live a life that reflects Gods true nature and brings him glory.

What do you think? Let me know

